Basic All-Grain Brown Ale

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

prothumia

Reaction score
I've been brewing extracts for about eight years and I'm down in South America where equipment and ingredients are scarce. In fact, it took me months to find a guy who sells homebrew stuff.

He only sells grains, so I am facing an all-grain batch. I have all the equipment necessary to brew and keg batches including a corny keg and a kegerator. I've got huge brew pots and a plastic fermenting bucket.
I'm dying to brew...it's been eight months.

I've got all the ingredients to make a brown ale.

Can someone give me a link to some very basic instructions on all-grain brewing?

Also, what other equipment do I absolutely need to brew all grain? I won't be able to hop down to the local brew shop. Are there any good suggestions for making a lauter tun?

Please help me, I've been forced to drink crappy commercial beer for eight months!

OP
P

prothumia

Reaction score
Thanks for the link.
How can I find a pot with a spigot? It seems dangerous to drill into my pot. How do people use coolers?

Onkel_Udo

Reaction score
Thanks for the link.
How can I find a pot with a spigot? It seems dangerous to drill into my pot. How do people use coolers?
Many turkey fryer kits have a valve built in the aluminum pot. In addition, almost every online retailer for homebrew stuff carries a line of valved brewpots.

Not sure why "dangerous" is the term you picked for drilling a pot? Are you afraid of messing up the pot or personal injury. This is a common process and well documented. Usually a step-drill bit is used as it is very easy to free-hand even with low power battery drill.