Assistance/Input about backsweetining

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KellyMcki

Reaction score
Hello all, just signed up to the site as I was hoping to get some input.
I have been homebrewing cider for a few months and have been using the same recipe, very simple setup, so far my friends and I have really enjoyed the cider I produce but this batch I wanted to change up the backsweetining.
So far I've been using a nice cider blend of apples that my friend hooks me up with because she works in a local orchard, she presses them for me and sends them over in these little gallon carboy-esque bottles. So far i have been using those as my primary fermentation vessels, and then just adding my yeast, yeast nutrient, and pectic enzyme too. When i get ready to backsweeten I use one can of organic apple juice concentrate per gallon.
Basically this time around I have 3 gallons and I want to backsweeten one with my regular method, one with local honey, and the last with a mix of orange blossom honey and blood orange concentrate.
So I'm reaching out to hopefully see what you all more experienced folk think is a good amount of honey and the honey/concentrate combo to add? Should i just try to match the sugar content of the apple juice concentrate i have?
Thanks in advance for any and all help
Kelly

"To taste" is the correct answer. But if you have a hydrometer and can measure the specific gravity of what you like after sweetening, it makes it easier to replicate the next time.

I'm with him^ add the honey till it tastes right. The combo is a bit different. My first thought was mix the combo then add the the cider. Then I wondered, if the blood orange is for flavor, should it go in first then the honey to sweeten?