Apfelwein

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ctpuckett

Reaction score
Hello,
I am relatively new to brewing and i hope someone can answer a question for me. I started my first batch of Apfelwein last night. This morning when I got up, I looked at it and there seemed to be a lot of activity going on (pretty heavy bubbles), but I just took a peek at it again and there is absolutely no sign of any bubbling. Below is the recipe I came up with. Can someone tell me if I may have messed up - perhaps I killed the yeast? Thanks

2 gal. apple juice (all natural, no preservatives, pasteurized)
1.5 lbs organic cane sugar
5 grams Lalvin 1118

I made sure everything was well sterilized, so I do not think that could be an issue. I am actually brewing it in a Mr. Beer keg. It will be a while before I can expand my equipment. I know the sugar content is high for the juice volume, that is why I chose a yeast with a higher alcohol tolerance. I am anticipating something that is moderately dry, but still retaining a descent sweetness (organic cane sugar only being about 85% fermentable, I think)

It's fine, from my experience apfelwein has a very "neutral" fermentation. I haven't done it with ec-1118 (I actually have my first pack of it in the fridge though to be done in a couple days) but when I did it with montrachet it was SLOOOWWW and LLOONNGGG. It was nothing like any beer I have brewed. Give it a few days, check the SG to see if it's dropped if you're really worried but personally I would just leave it alone, I'm sure it's doing fine.

Pretty much the only outside force you can screw up: what temps are you fermenting at?

RDWHAHB

it is really helpful to use nutrient and energizer when making cider from store bought juice. there just aren't many nucleation points.