Any input on this DIPA recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jgourd

Reaction score
I figure this will be tasty. Plus, it's my first time trying first wort hopping. Care to critique?

Code:
Hop Machine DIPA
----------------
Batch Size: 6.00 gal (8.88 gal preboil)
Estimated OG: 1.085 SG
Estimated FG: 1.020 SG
Estimated IBUs: 129 (Tinseth)
Estimated Color: 11 SRM
Brewhouse Efficiency: 73%
Boil Time: 90 minutes

Grains:
15.00# Northwestern Pale Ale malt (76.19%)
2.00# Munich Malt 10L (10.16%)
1.25# Carapils/Dextrine (6.35%)
0.75# British carastan (3.81%)
0.69# Caravienne Malt (3.49%)

Hops:
0.50 oz Centennial (9.1%) @fwh
0.50 oz Columbus (14.5%) @fwh
0.50 oz Simcoe (12.2%) @fwh
1.00 oz Warrior (15.8%) @90 min
1.00 oz Simcoe (12.2%) @60 min
1.00 oz Centennial (9.1%) @20 min
1.00 oz Columbus (14.5%) @20 min
1.00 oz Simcoe (12.2%) @20 min
1.00 oz Amarillo (8.6%) @0 min
1.00 oz Cascade (4.6%) @0 min
1.00 oz Centennial (9.1%) @0 min
1.00 oz Amarillo (8.6%) @dry #1
1.00 oz Cascade (4.6%) @dry #1
1.00 oz Centennial (9.1%) @dry #1
0.50 oz Amarillo (8.6%) @dry #2
0.50 oz Cascade (4.6%) @dry #2
0.50 oz Centennial (9.1%) @dry #2
0.50 oz Columbus (14.5%) @dry #2
0.50 oz Simcoe (12.2%) @dry #2

Yeast:
White Labs WLP001 (California Ale) (California Ale)

Mash/Sparge Schedule:
Single Infusion, 150F; Batch Sparge for 90 mins.

Fermentation Schedule:
Primary Fermentation: 14 days @66F
Secondary Fermentation: 7 days @71F

Flame out hops will steep for about 15 mins before collecting the wort. Dry hop #1 will be done in the primary when fermentation is about 95% done. Dry hop #2 will be done in the secondary.

This recipe looks really tasty!

Just a few comments;