Anova Sous Vide BIAB 3 gallon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikebanyai

Reaction score
The new Anova immersion circulating heater is an awesome tool for a BIAG homebrewer. I have no relationship with the company and admittedly am a newbie to its use, although I have been homebrewing for more then 10 years. I have been able to do a 3 gallon all grain batch in 3 hours from the time I put the water in the pot to the time I pitched the yeast in a 5 gallon bucket. The heater is a thousand watts, the circulating fan pushes the water around just fine, the solid state control will keep a specific temp for an infinite amount of time or a set amount of time as set on the control screen. So you can dial in one batch at 158 and the next one at 152 or start at a protein rest of 122 for 30 min and then go to 153 or whatever number you like. My conversion rate has always been in the 80 % range. To be sure, there are things I do to make it work well but they are mostly self evident and there are caveats that I will lay out up front. It is designed for about 4 gallons of water to do Sous Vide, a food cooking method worth checking out in its own way, makes the unit more of a multitasker. The cost of the unit is a bit more than two hundred bucks delivered. I have gone to doing 3 gallon batches even before I started using the unit, partly because I find it fun to make many different brews and partly because I can't drink or give away all that I make. It could be used to make five gallons but it would be more of a chore then benefit in my opinion. it is not a tool for the boil and I use it in a 5 gallon pot on the top of my stove in my kitchen and do cheat a bit by using the gas flame to assist the rise to 122 and then again to 158, not because the unit won't do it but