Another CO2 Leak

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bken620

Reaction score
So I'm new to kegging like everyone else who writes a post like this is, but after searching and searching I can't find the answer to this.

So I have a CO2 leak, and obviously I'm not sure where it's coming from, when I first setup my system I sprayed all of the connections with with star san and didn't see any leaks. I have a permanent washer between my tank and my regulator.

I turned off my check valve immediately connected to my regulator, turned on my CO2, turned the set screw up to 10 PSI, turned off the CO2 and turned the set screw back as if it were at 0 PSI. The low side gauge read 10 PSI, then after about 12 Hours (this morning) it read 8 PSI, now 12 hours later it's reading 6 PSI. Anyone have any ideas?

On a side note if I turn off the CO2 but leave the set screw at 10 PSI, it stays at 10 PSI.

Here's a picture of my setups:
IMG_5322.jpg

Doesn't sound like a leak at all. Your CO2 is coming out when your set screw is backed out to zero. That's where the CO2 is coming out.

Doesn't sound like a leak at all. Your CO2 is coming out when your set screw is backed out to zero. That's where the CO2 is coming out.

Okay, because when I was looking up co2 leaks causes and effects, one website said to start at the regulator and do exactly that, bring back the set screw. So you think I'm good?

what is your hose connected to? a keg? closed end?

EDIT: Not Keg, CO2 tank (I am doing this from my phone and it's not posting correctly, sorry)

Closed end, but the check valve is shut off. The reason I'm asking is I kegged to corny a week later left for vacation and came back to an empty CO2 tank, though I've since replaced the check valve directly off of the regulator