And so it begins! My E-Herms build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RocketBrewer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for 20 years on and off now (mostly all-grain). I've been using a simple propane fired gravity system with a cooler mash tun and brewed many good beers but I set out to build a better system. My goal was to build a system that would have much more precise control and something that I could operate by myself. I decided that I liked the HERMS idea more than a RIMS and after much research I decided to go all electric.

Now, I'm no electrician so initially I decided that I would buy a ready-built controller but after doing tons of research on the forums and sites like ebrewsupply.com and theelectricbrewery.com I came to believe that I could build a controller myself. I liked different ideas from all the systems I saw and wanted to incorporate those ideas into my own design. P-J's wiring diagrams were also a HUGE inspiration to me. Thanks go to P-J and Kal and all the others for all your contributions to the brewing community :mug:.

As for the system, I wanted a 50A two element back-to-back set up. My plan is to use a 30 gal stainless drum for my HLT and modified keggles for MLT and BK. I will be using 2 stainless head center inlet Chugger Pumps to move things around. As for the controller I am using 3 SYL-2352 PID's and a JSL-73B multi-event timer from Auber Instruments. I also liked Kals use of volt/amp meters, but found one in another build thread that matched the PID displays, was very simple to wire, and was lless than $10 shipped! I'm very happy with it and you can find it HERE.