Am I missing something..??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B-rad

Reaction score
So i went to visit the folks last night in my hometown... Desided to check out the LHBS to see what they had... Now i realize that i am a nOObe.. (5th extract kit is fermenting).. but I made some small talk and just asked how the beer kits were selling.. (most people around here are into wine..) he said.. "as good as it can be I guess.... its a shame about making beer.... 50% of the time it doesnt turn out..... at least when people make wine they know it will turn out..."... I told him that Im completely new at the hobby and have yet to have a bad batch,,, he told me that I will for sure and half of the ones I do will not turn out... now am I just lucky so far or is he an idiot... I mean I dont see how hard extract can be..., just stay clean.. sanitise and follow the 1-2-3... how could I mess up??

Yeah, I don't know - if you have your sanitation routines down, I don't see why that would be the case. The only problems I ever had was with controlling fermentation temps, but I've since taken care of that (check my sig). You live up north, so its probably not hard to find a cool place to ferment your beer...

Unless I'm missing something I'd say he was an idiot. I don't think I'd still be in this hobby if half of my batches were bad.

That could explain why he doesn't sell much beer stuff if he's telling all his prospective customers that half their money and work will be wasted.

I just thought maybe I was the best damn brewer that ever lived in Canada... 100% success rate!!!!!!!! and all these other suckers dont even get half their beer to drink......