Altbier recipe help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackdirt_cowboy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm trying to develop a recipe for an authentic Düsseldorf Altbier. Most places I have researched said to use mostly pilsner malt with a little Munich and even less roasted malts. Others claim you need more of a Munich/Vienna combination with a little pilsner malt. Can someone compare and contrast the flavor profiles and body of the beers going these two different ways? I'm really new to brewing and don't have the experience to know how these recipes will taste. For what it's worth, I plan on using all splat hops at 60 minutes, no flavor or aroma hops, and will use wyeast 1007. Thanks for your help. Here is my preliminary Grain bill:

German pilsner - 80%
Light Munich - 18.3%
Chocolate wheat - 1.7%

I threw the chocolate wheat in to add a little bit of color and to help with head retention. Plus I have some left from a dunkelweizen that I did. I debated going with some carafa or caramunich, but was afraid I'd get it too roasty.

The ratio of Pilsner/Munich is up to you. It looks good as is. I'd go with it and decide on adjustments for next time once you taste the beer. More Munich will add malty/richer flavor. That's good to a point but you don't want this tasting like a bock or festbier.

Spalt hops are great, my favorite German variety. I do like a small middle addition to give a touch of background hops in support of the malt but, again, that is up to you. Carafa is a good choice for color adjustment and small quantities won't cause undo roastiness. CaraMunich is a crystal malt. It can be used if you want to but if your base malt is high quality IMO you won't need it.