Allen's Single Tier Brew Stand R.I.M.S. System

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IndyBlueprints

Reaction score
I don't post a lot here, but I've gotten just TONS of great info and knowledge that's helped me take my brewing to the next level.

Background info on me; I've been brewing beer for 23 years, but mostly using low tech / old school methods that have served me well for a long time. I've been making wine since 2009, and have won many international medals and trophies. Although I still ferment about 36-42 gallons of wine a year, My heart is truly into Brewing Beer. Anyways, I FINALLY decided to take my brewing up a few notches. I've been doing some serious DIY projects. The first being I made my own stir plate from scratch, with parts from Radio Shack & the Interwebs. ENded up costing me about $30.00

So, I decided that I wanted to move up to 10 gallon batches instead of 5 gallon, so I would have less work keeping my kegerator full. Once I looked into the details on how to best do that, I decided I needed to tackle some automated brewing. It was really a long process deciding what exactly I wanted to automate. I currently have one Blichmann burner, but plan to get another. My first thought was to set up a couple of PID's and some gas furnace regulators & parts & pieces to have a direct fired gas RIMS system. The more I researched it, and thought about it, the more I leaned towards an electric water heater element fired RIMS.

I still am heating my brew kettle & my strike water with gas, but decided to circulate my mash tun with a water heater element. I did look into getting a pre-made RIMS tube, but wanted to save money wherever I could, so I built one out of Stainless pipe & fittings.
import%209-22-16%201867.jpg