All unmalted wheat - extra amylase

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stronk

Reaction score
Hi all. First post (though used to be a very active member of Real Beer forums 10 years ago).

So I'm new to all-grain, though have accomplished partial mash beers before. I wouldn't go near all-grain (lacking the equipment and time), but I have moved to the Middle East and have to learn how to brew with the local ingredients, with a little help from small and lightweight imports from the UK.

Obviously, since there is very little brewing out here (one micro and one macrobrewery, but both order ingredients from abroad), nobody is malting grain. I can get wheat and possibly barley (though the grade of the barley will be animal feed), but can't get modified grains.

I'm about to create a recipe for an all-unmalted-wheat beer. I imagine that if this is successful, it will turn out very dry and characterless, so rather than trying to hefeweizen it up with an interesting yeast, I'm going to treat it like a wit and spice it.

My plan so far is to use 100% unmalted wheat crushed very finely, plus about half a kilo of additional wheat husks for the mash. I have a tube of amylase that I persuaded a friend to bring me from the UK, which has a very uninformative label. It's 25g of white powder which is amylase cut with what I suspect is probably a majority by weight of dextrose. The label assumes I'm using it to clarify wine (God knows why I'd have starch in fermenting wine...), and just tells me to use a tsp per gallon for that purpose.

As you have probably clocked by now, my plan is to try to convert the starches in the unmalted wheat using only amylase from this tube.