Airlock not bubbling?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nathan Hassey

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first time posting on this site and to be honest first couple times brewing. I went strait for all grain because it just seems neat. Its been a few days not and I am not getting ANY air bubbles in my airlock. I have read online that it doesnt mean a bad fermentation, but I know it could also mean no fermentation. I was wondering if anyone here have had issues with that and still had a good burn turn our or should I be worried. I am using a 2g bucket I got at my local homebrew shop. Any advise would be much appreciated!

Buckets are notorious for having leaky seals on the lid.... no big deal. Sometimes I use buckets as fermenters - they never bubble. If you want, you could probably crack the lid open carefully and peak in to see if there is foamy krausen indicating fermentation. Just open it enough to peek in and make sure everything is sanitary. Be careful that opening the lid does not suck sanitizer back through your air lock. you may want to remove that when you open the lid to avoid that possibility.

That is is the one down side of buckets - you can't "see" what is happening. Taking a peek might give you peace of mind.

I appreciate the response. I think I'm just worrying too much. If Krausen hasn't formed though, that is bad right? The reason I'm worried is it is being stored in an area that is 2 degrees higher than the max temp the yeast recommends. The issue I am having is either 5 degrees colder, or 1-3 degrees hotter than max. It is winter here so the temps are so sporadic.

Should I transfer it to a glass jug? I was planning on using it for the secondary but the bucket thing is stressing me out too much lol.