$8 Home Depot Cooler Conversion PT I

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbowler

Reaction score
I'm posting this here instead of DIY becuase i've never done an AG before, and I'm not sure how well (or crappy) this will work.
Also I had to cut it up because there is a 4 pic limit.
maybe a mod can stitch it back together if it's any use.

if looks like a keeper then Mods can move it wherever, and we'll know by the weekend if it should be moved to the trash (First AG brew to take place Fridayish)

The name is a bit deceiving because you'll need one of thiose LHBS plastic valves that I'm guessing most people without a Tun probably have laying around.

ANYWAY. Turns out that a 3/4" copper supply hose for a hot water heater ($8 at home Depot) is a dead nuts match for teh most popular of those Plastic Home Brew Valves.
DSC03954.jpg

ignore the ball valve, it just didn't work. In addition to being carppy quality, there is nothing for the washer to push against to make a seal againt the outside ovf the Cooler.

The Cooler
I got a 5-gallon igloo at K-Mart ($26), a Craftsman at K-mart, the world is ending...
You can see that the wall where the spout was is Fairly thin, this is the key to the whole Dealeo
DSC03962.jpg

I had to open the hole a bit, to about 1" (1 1/8" to be exact, thanks ablrbrau), but all my construction tools are at my parents house (long story) so I used a 7/8" spade bit that did just a crappy enough job to cause problems.

stuck teh HB vlave through the rough hole and attached the Hot Water line for a quick test, so far so good.
DSC03966.jpg

DSC03964.jpg

PART II
I then added 1 Hard Black Rubber washer to the Valve, then a soft white rubber washer, on the inside I used just a white soft rubber washer.