64 Calories

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeffegale

Reaction score
I am new in the whole home brewing hobby. With that said, i am on my 4th batch and my 1st all grain. I have no clue how many calories are in my home brew is it close to commercial brewers?? What makes a low calorie beer so low in cals? Could we make them as well? Thanks for any replies Jeff

low calorie beer scares me, most likely using 6 row barley instead of 2 row and a lot of adjuncts like corn or rice. And yes this is homebrew you can make any kind of beer you want, but I wouldnt go around bragging about low calorie beer

It was mostly my Girlfriend hounding me about beer questions and i had no answer for her Thanks hopsalot

Calories in beer are largely from the alcohol. Less alcohol will typically yield less calories. There's other factors like un-fermented sugars, but alcohol is a big caloric player

its home brew, you shouldnt be worrying about the calories! i just account for a few extra calories in my day so i can drink a beer or two.

Tupoly is right about the alcohol. I know some people who think beer has more calories than wine because it is "bulkier," but that's wrong.

Most beer is between 125 and 200 calories per 12 oz. 64 is ridiculously low.

IIRC lite beer is also thinner with fewer calories because a chunk of the dextrines are made fermentable by tossing in some extra enzymes. The highly fermentable wort is then diluted.

Just take 2 tablespoons of homebrew, put it in a 16 oz. glass and top off with water. Wallah! Instant MGD-64!

If you have a program like beersmith, it will calculate the calories for you in any recipe you make. Higher alcohol beers can have a ton of calories in them, so they can add up quick!