5 gallon vs 10 gallon batch size

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-CHRIS-

Reaction score
I am very new to brewing and have a few extract kits under my belt.

I am falling hard and want to build an eHERMs system.

Problem is, I am struggling with 3 x 10 gallon kettles for 5 gallon batches versus 3 x 20 gallon kettles for 10 gallon batches. Right now I am experimenting and want to try as many different beer types as possible. I have a FastFerment which has 5 gallon capacity and I have bought a few ball lock kegs for serving/storage.

In my research, it seems that it is less than ideal to brew 5 gallon batches in a 10 gallon system so it seems I am stuck.

Why brew 10 gallons over 5, is it only for scale or are other advantages of the larger batch sizes?

Does anyone make narrow but tall 20 gallon kettles that are the same diameter as 10 gallon kettles which would reduce the challenge of the reduced batch size?

Chris

I'm not sure why anyone would be handicapped trying to do 5 gallon batches in a 10 gallon kettle (system)?

As I see it, the extra head space of a larger system just gives some additional protection against boil-over.

For point of reference, I use keggles (15.5 G) for 10 gallon batches, and they work just fine.

As far as the reason behind why brew 10 over 5, it's just that much less work in the long run. Half the prep, half the process, half the cleanup.

I'm not sure why anyone would be handicapped trying to do 5 gallon batches in a 10 gallon kettle (system)?

Well the question is not about a 10 gallon kettle, it's a 10 gallon system (which he mentioned he was sizing as 3x 20 gallon pots).