2nd Batch.. No airlock activity after 72 hours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eightohhthree

Reaction score
Noob Here. I'm on my second extract batch (American Wheat). My first batch (BB German Altbier Kit) is on it's 3rd week in the primary. I pitched the dry yeast directly into my bucket and he air lock was furiously bubbling within 12 hours. I was actually concerned about this one cause the "best by" date on the package was September of 2009. It seems to be doing just fine though.

I went to my LHBS and picked up another fermenting bucket and one of their in house American Wheat kits. I did everything the same as my first batch, except for I put the package of yeast in to a pyrex of luke warm water from the tap. It was fizzing a little and 15 minutes later I pitched into my bucket of 62 degree wort.

I did this Sunday afternoon, It's now Tuesday afternoon and still no activity in the air lock. I am wondering if I may have messed up somewhere along the line.

I have been reading HBT for 3 days straight, and everything says to just wait it out and the yeast will take care of it. I plan on leaving in the primary for 3 weeks or so to allow the yeast to run it's coarse. How long should I wait to take a hydrometer reading?

Im havent been screwing with my beer cause I am doing everything I can to avoid contamination. Im just a little concerned cause this one isnt taking off like the last one did. I wasnt really worried about it until we hit the 3 day mark.

Did you miss the part about taking a grav reading? Airlock activity or lack of is not to be trusted......only a hydrometer. &2 is a good amount to wait, but even the sticky in the beginners forum about it, clearly states that airlock bubbling (or in your case lack of it) is NOT a sign of fermentation