2.4 Volumes of CO2??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnboy1313

Reaction score
Let me start by saying this is my first attempt at kegging. According to CO2 charts that I've seen, 2.4 volumes of CO2 is a typical carbonation level for an ale. I've had my keg at 40 degrees for 13 days at 12 PSI. Per the chart, that should be about 2.47 volumes of CO2. I've been trying a small sample for a week or so, just to check how it's going. It's still very flat and doesn't seem to be any more carbed than it was a week ago. It has a slight head and I can taste the CO2 in it, but like I said, it's still really flat. I'm not in any hurry to drink it. I brewed it for a buddy's birthday party and I've still got some time. I really just want to be sure it's going to be OK.

I have no way to gauge if 2.4 volumes of CO2 is actually the target I'm aiming for, for you guys with experience, does that seem like a decent carb level?

Should I bump the PSI up to 15, or just leave it at 12 and give it more time?

Thanks, John

2.4 volumes is fine (that's what mine is!) and your beer should be pretty well carbed by nice. Assuming you're not out of gas, the only other thing I can think of is if your beerline is short and "knocking" the co2 out of suspension on the way to the glass.

When I pull the relief valve, it hisses and then I can hear the gas running into the keg until it balances. If there was no pressure would the beer come out of the tap when opened?

2.4 volumes is fine (that's what mine is!) and your beer should be pretty well carbed by nice. Assuming you're not out of gas, the only other thing I can think of is if your beerline is short and "knocking" the co2 out of suspension on the way to the glass.