1st attempt for double ipa recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lincolnubrewer

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first attempt in creating a double ipa recipe. My plan is to make 6 gal batch with splitting into two 3 gal for enough room for fermentation. Then at the end 2ndary drop hop schedule to merge back into 5 gallon keg. What you think about recipe and my thought process with the two 3 gal batches? This will be a 90 min boil FYI.

IIPa
Imperial IPA
All Grain (6.00 gal) ABV: 8.21 %
OG: 1.076 SG FG: 1.014 SG
IBUs: 107.7 IBUs Color: 8.1 SRM

5.71 gal Deer Park (R), Bottled Water
0.50 oz - Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate)
Mash 60 min
14 lb 13.7 oz - Pale Malt (2 Row) US
Mash addition (84.7%) - 2.0 SRM
1 lb 4.1 oz - Munich Malt - 20L
Mash addition (7.2%) - 20.0 SRM
9.1 oz - Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L
Mash addition (3.3%) - 40.0 SRM
13.7 oz - Cara-Pils/Dextrine
Mash addition (4.9%) - 2.0 SRM

2.00 oz - Chinook
Boil 60 min (56.5 IBUs)
1.00 oz - Amarillo Gold
Boil 15 min (12.9 IBUs)
1.00 oz - Simcoe
Boil 15 min (14.3 IBUs)
1.00 oz - Pacific Jade
Boil 15 min (17.2 IBUs)
0.50 oz - Hbc 342
Boil 15 min (6.9 IBUs

1.00 tsp - Irish Moss
Boil 10 min

1.00 oz - Amarillo Gold
Boil 0 min (0.0 IBUs)
1.00 oz - Pacific Jade
Boil 0 min (0.0 IBUs)
1.00 oz - Simcoe
Boil 0 min (0.0 IBUs)
0.50 oz - Hbc 342
Boil 0 min (0.0 IBUs)

2 pkg - Safale American
DCL/Fermentis #US-05

1.00 oz - Simcoe
Dry Hop 7 days
1.00 oz - Pacific Jade
Dry Hop 7 days
1.00 oz - Amarillo Gold
Dry Hop 7 days
1.00 oz - Hbc 342
Dry Hop 7 days

Chinook can impart a harsh bitterness when used at 60 or 90 min. If it were my beer, I would swap it out for Warrior, Columbus, or even Nugget. But probably Warrior, because I love it.