1st AG - Finished about 1:30am....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
So, wendesday night "on a whim" brewing is NOT exactly how I planned on starting all-grain, but it seemed to have went ok....

So Tuesday, while at Gander getting a hunting license, I saw a 5-gallon Rubbermaid for $25, so I grabbed it. My plan was to do partial-mashes. Me and the wife had been talking about throwing a new years eve party, and I wanted another beer to serve for that. Sitting at work, I was thinking that since I'm going to be gone all next week, the earliest I could brew would be the 28th. Might not be ready. So I decided to go to the brew store and whip one up that night, and I decided to tone it down gravity-wise in order to drink it by dec 31. "well, if i tone it down to 50, then I might be able to get away with all-grain...". Doughed in at 8:30. Fell into bed at 1:30am....

Anyway, here's my process. I know I did a lot of stupid things along the way, but please point out the stupidest.

6.00 lb Pale 2-Row
2.50 lb Munich 10L
0.50 lb Caramel 40L
0.50 lb Black Patent
0.50 lb Chocolate

1.50 oz Goldings (60) -Wanted East Kent, HBS only had US.
0.50 oz Williamette (40)
0.50 oz Williamette (15)
Irish moss + Wyeast nutrient
WL001, double-pitched

Target OG was 1.048 for 5.5 gallons, I bought a lb of Briess Golden Light DME to bump it up to 1.050 once I knew the mash gravity.