10 Important lessons learned (so far)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

AKchill

Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
So, I've only brewed five batches. I'm still a beginner. There are several things that I have learned since I started this process. First, RDWHAHB. Second, have some patience (my first batch was a hef, and the last bottle was awesome). Third, LISTEN! Fourth, take good notes. Fifth, your fifth batch will be 800% better than your first. Sixth, RDWHAHB. Seventh, HAVE SOME PATIENCE. Eighth, the people on HBT know their $#!T, so LISTEN! Ninth, don't drink EdWort's Apfelwein like it is beer. Tenth, have some patience.

Anybody have anything to add to this?

llazy_llama

Reaction score
Yes, since you asked.

1: Your airlock is a cheap piece of plastic. Your hydrometer is a calibrated scientific tool. Listen to the friggin hydrometer, and tell your airlock to STFU.

2: If you don't have the patience to wait for your beer to mature, you're in the wrong hobby. How do you get to good beer hall? Patience, patience, patience.

3: Control your fermentation temps. This is one of the easiest things the new homebrewer can do to ensure good beer.

4: Star San is amazing. Use it in bulk, and don't rinse that foam! It's impossible to over-sanitize (unless you start boiling your yeast) so sanitize the hell out of everything and never look back.

5: If you're an extract brewer, go full boil ASAP. Your beer will thank you. Your friends will thank you. Your tastebuds will thank you.

6: Don't sweat the small stuff. Forgot to add the irish moss? RDWHAHB. Didn't rehydrate that dried yeast? RDWHAHB. Airlock isn't bubbling after 4 hours? RDWHAHB.

7: Listen to the folks on HBT. HBT is the combined collective wisdom and experience of 10,000+ brewers who have been brewing for decades. At this point, they know what they're talking about.