1 pound of honey for 1 gallon of mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shamisan

Reaction score
So I'm currently brewing my second batch of mead and I decided to experiment with it by only using a pound of honey to make a 1 gallon batch. It has been in primary fermentation for about a week now, and I'm using 1 full packet of D47 wine yeast.

My question is, combining all of that together, how long should both primary and secondary fermentation take?

I'm curious how fast the full packet of D47 will consume the honey. I'm only a beginner so I apologize for a possibly obvious question. But I'm having a lot of fun experimenting and I cant eait to learn more.

Do you have a hydrometer?

That's only a little bit of honey, you'll get maybe 5% alcohol. D47 should chew through that in a week.
I do not have one yet. It's definitely the next tool to invest in though. 5% is about what I thought it would be.

How long do you think I should leave it during second fermentation?

Rack it to secondary when specific gravity is below 1.005, which is just about finished fermenting. Then leave it in secondary until it's clear enough to bottle. That can take a month, sometimes more sometimes less.

Rack it to secondary when specific gravity is below 1.005, which is just about finished fermenting. Then leave it in secondary until it's clear enough to bottle. That can take a month, sometimes more sometimes less.
Sounds good! Thanks for the response :)

Hi Shamisan - and welcome.
What is your recipe and what is your protocol? Honey has no nutrients so unless you add some, the yeast will likely be stressed and stressed yeast stress the wine maker by creating off flavors.