1 gallon first batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjswift

Reaction score
Okay, I have been making Mead for about 8 months now, and had some pretty good results (only making 1 gallon batches). I want to make beer now, and am going to get a kit and equipment (for 5 gallon batches) for christmas from my wife. I do not want to wait until christmas to start making beer, is there a 1 gallon recipe someone can point me to so I can use my one gallon equipment?

I guess I could just buy ingredients for a five gallon batch, and just use 1/5 of it, right? Any ideas on what I should do? Thanks

bjswift said:
Okay, I have been making Mead for about 8 months now, and had some pretty good results (only making 1 gallon batches). I want to make beer now, and am going to get a kit and equipment (for 5 gallon batches) for christmas from my wife. I do not want to wait until christmas to start making beer, is there a 1 gallon recipe someone can point me to so I can use my one gallon equipment?

I guess I could just buy ingredients for a five gallon batch, and just use 1/5 of it, right? Any ideas on what I should do? Thanks

well actually, I think steinfillers.com has some 1 gallon kits. the website sucks though, but as a supply shop they are good, in my experience anyways

The July-August edition of BYO magazine has an article on 1 gallon batches as well as some recipes.

basic brewing radio podcast and there website, james spencer the host does lots of gallon batches. Check that out and email him with any questions he usually gets back to people within a day

I wouldn't try to split a 5 gallon kit.

all you really need is a little Dry Malt Extract, a pack of yeast, and a little bag of hops.

I second that.. use the dry malt.