Mangrove Jack's Yeasts review (M15, M36, M42, M44, M54)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dadux

Reaction score
Hi guys.
So i have been here for a while and i started brewing mead and discovered Mangrove Jacks M05 yeast. Thats what got me into mangrove jacks yeasts when i started brewing beers. I have only been doing so for half a year but i have done a bunch of batches and every time i try to find info on a new MJ strain i wanted to try i usually dont find much (a lot of old comments and mixed reviews). For this reason i have decided to post my experiences with some of those yeasts, so other people can see this and know what they are in for if they choose one of the yeasts.

Beforehand i have to say a few things:
-My batches are not experimental. I didnt do side by side cmparisons, this are just my personal notes and experiences. Dont ask me to compare to other manufacturers or yeasts. I simly give you the info i have gathered in my short time brewing.
-The following is my PERSONAL opinion. you may agree or not. Also some yeasts performance may vary from batch to batch or between styles. Feel free to PM me or post any questions you have/recipes or specifics you want
-Will do my best to update the list over time if people seem to be interested
-IMPORTANT: unless stated otherwise, I always used 1 pack of yeast (11g) for 14-15 liters of beer, rehydrating the yeast 15 minutes before pitch in aprox 250ml of water at 37ºC

Thats all, here we go. I will post what i wrote for myself then elaborate a bit in a second paragraph: