Is this Equipment Kit a good deal for $90?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Video360

Reaction score
A neighbor is offering me a complete beginner's kit, along with a basic pale ale ingredients kit (extract), that he wants to sell for $90. It's new and unused.

I've seen similar kits for as low as $69 at places like MoreBeer.com, but they don't include ingredients, and are missing some of the items that are included here.

Can you tell me if this is a steal or not? I need to step it up! So far, I've made a number of batches (all pretty good), in my two Mr. Beer LBKs, but sadly, Mr. Beer is a little limited for what I want to do.

Here's what's included (along with a photo):

6 gallon plastic fermenter with spigot and gasketed lid
6 gallon bottling bucket with spigot and gasketed lid
Airlock and stopper
Hydrometer
Racking cane w/ 6' of tubing
Bottle filler (spring loaded)
Bottle capper
Bottle brush
Bottle caps (144)
Ingredients kit for a basic Pale Ale (6lbs DME, Safale US-05, 2oz hops-unsure of which variety)
One pound of corn sugar for bottling

BeerKit.jpg

I am thinking that used gear is used gear, personally I would be happy somewhere around the 50usd range.

I wouldn't call it a steal.....you are probably saving about $10-15 over retail prices. Your buddy certainly isn't doing you any favors here. I'd offer about $50-60 myself.

I am thinking that used gear is used gear, personally I would be happy somewhere around the 50usd range.

First question is......Why is he selling?

Did he upgrade? Decide it wasn't for him? If he did one batch and is done he will expect near full price. Did he get new comparable equipment (possible infection?)

Second question what condition are the buckets in? Any scratches? (even the smallest is bad).