First Brew Kettle

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nez02

Reaction score
I just started brewing and need a kettle so I can start to do 5 gallon batches. From what I could find on the interwebs I would be best to start off with a 10 gallon kettle for 5 gallon batches. From what I have found on the forum the Concords seem to be a well liked budget kettle, followed by the polar ware. Of course the Blichmans are the best but are out of my price range. What are your recommendations for a good first kettle that will last, in the 10 gallon range?

I have a MegaPot 2.1 and love it. I went with 10 gallons. I do BIAB and find it works great for me. With 10 gallons I sometimes run out of room for the mash and do a dunk sparge, but I find that works fine for me.

I would go with 10 gallons or more. I was sold a 5 gallon by my LHBS and they claimed I would not outgrow it within the first year. I outgrew it within the second batch when I learned of full boils and the likes.

I bought a 10 gallon bayou classic from Amazon with a spigot, which was a stop-gap towards buying a set of kettles when I went all electric. Turns out I love it so much, I just bought a 15 gallon one and I'll be outfitting it with a HERMs coil and heating element. I believe I'll be saving a fair amount as well, but we'll see. They're sturdy, my handles are welded and I've never felt like it was going to buckle under the weight, and I like the inside volume markings.

Update International has a good 10 gallon SS triclad bottom pot that will compete with any on price. The 40 quart is $98.00. I don't have one but I hear they are heavy and well built.

http://www.webstaurantstore.com/40-...ss-steel-stock-pot-with-cover/922SSPOT45.html