Control Panel - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Control Panel
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 08:49 PM   #1
airbalancer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
airbalancer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Western MA
Posts: 155
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts



Here are some pics of the control panel for my yet to be built electric HERMS rig. Two Auber PID's which im not to crazy about. They dont have much of a lip so they dont seal very tight to the panel. I was thinking of finding an O ring that fits tight around them, maybe that will help. All the LED switches are from automation direct. Green for pumps, Red for elements, clear for HLT stirrer, and Blue for water fill. One pump is a three way, recirculate, and sparge will have a float switch.

Cheers
Mike





 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,391
Liked 94 Times on 79 Posts


Did you get your SSRs and heat sinks from Auber too? That is where I bought my stuff.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:42 PM   #3
airbalancer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
airbalancer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Western MA
Posts: 155
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


I did get the SSRs and heat sinks from Auber. It was your post that got me motivated to get this project underway. Do you have any idea how much money your costing me?

I did want to ask you how much heat is generated by the SSRs? I wanted to mount them inside an enclosure with a fan.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 12:50 AM   #4
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,391
Liked 94 Times on 79 Posts


Well, there is a fair ammount of heat generated over the course of a 60 miunute boil. I have my cycle time set at 1 second, and I can keep a rolling boil going at about 60-65%. That is A LOT of switching. The heat sink gets noticeably warm to the touch, and mine is mountd outside the box. If you ventilate the box well so that it can pull air in and exhaust it, you will be fine. If not, Id find a way to mount them on the exterior.

Sorry about costing you all the dough!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:41 AM   #5
ClaudiusB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,349
Liked 98 Times on 75 Posts


airbalancer looks well done.
A few labels, and your control box looks like first class.

Cheers,
ClaudiusB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:57 AM   #6
bakins
Recipes 
 
May 2008
West Georgia
Posts: 728
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Which switches did you buy (sample item numbers) bcs I didn't think they had any that would handle element amps.

Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:59 AM   #7
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,391
Liked 94 Times on 79 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bakins View Post
Which switches did you buy (sample item numbers) bcs I didn't think they had any that would handle element amps.

Thanks.
I was sorta wondering that too... the switches on thier site that LOOK similar to yours are rated at like 6A at 130VAC... and 4A at 400VAC. I hope I am missing something, or those cool looking switches wont be very helpful????

Unless you are actually using those element switches to control the PID output... that they could handle.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:14 AM   #8
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bull8042's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 10,261
Liked 450 Times on 447 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pol View Post
....Sorry about costing you all the dough!
You can make it up by sending me the money you cost him. That makes everyone even, right?
__________________
"I brew with a water cooler and some part from the toilet." - JohnnyO

"I do gravity feed the last gallon or two through my Therminator, but I expect you could suck start a Volkswagen before you could suck start one of these. - GilaMinumBeer

"..... Bull was right." - TXCurtis

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:16 AM   #9
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,391
Liked 94 Times on 79 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bull8042 View Post
You can make it up by sending me the money you cost him. That makes everyone even, right?
Looking at my posts... you think I have any money left?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:20 AM   #10
airbalancer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
airbalancer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Western MA
Posts: 155
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


All the control wiring is 24 VAC. I bought a couple large 30 amp douple pole relays on ebay for the elements, and 4 smaller relays for everything else. The switches are GCX1251-24L. The switch LEDs are 24 volts also so it make it easy to wire them to illuminate when switched on.

NEW PANEL MOUNT GENERAL P.POWER RELAY DPDT 24VAC 30A - eBay (item 390006049223 end time Feb-02-09 10:05:53 PST)



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show us your control panel! kal Equipment/Sanitation 139 04-04-2015 08:28 PM
IS 30A enough for my control panel or am I too close? kal Equipment/Sanitation 78 03-12-2010 10:17 PM
Control Panel [email protected] All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 05-09-2008 07:33 PM
My control panel Brewpastor Brew Stands 7 03-14-2007 09:05 PM
Control Panel Pictures please Brewpastor Brew Stands 4 03-13-2007 08:05 PM


Forum Jump