Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > My Belgian Project

Old 01-11-2009, 02:27 AM   #1
leghorn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My Belgian Project

Well, I've been brewing for 2 years now, and have evolved to all-grain. I was thinking about my goals for 2009, and wanted to build on my knowledge and have some fun with a series of beers that I could taste in one flight at the end of the year. I also wanted a cool Christmas gift for my beer drinking friends. Thus, my belgian project was born.

Each quarter, I am going to brew a belgian. January it will be a quad, April a Tripel, July a Dubbel, and Oct a Singel. In December, I have a flight of abbey style beers to examine and rumenate over the year, all aged appropriately.

Recipes are a combination from Radical Brewing and my own. I'd appreciate feedback on the recipes and approach toward this project. Here are the recipes:

Jan Quadrupel (derived from Radical Brewing)
10lb Pilsener Malt
4lb Amber Malt
2lb Munich
1lb table sugar
1lb XLDME
2oz Styrian Goldings (60 min)
1.5oz Sazz (15 min)
WLP500 Trappist Ale
2oz Oak Chips soaked in Chardonnay for 2 weeks (secondary)
Mash at 148 for 90 min
OG: 1.095

1lb XLDME and 1lb Table sugar are cooked together in pan until caramelized to preference, and added after boil has started (from Radical Brewing, pg. 166)

Apr Tripel
13lb Pilsener Malt
1/4 lb Aromatic
2lb Clear Belgian Candi Sugar
1.75oz Styrian Goldings (90 min)
1oz Sazz (10 min)
WLP500 Trappist Ale
Mash at 151 for 90 min
OG: 1.086

Jul Dubbel (Derived from Radical Brewing pg. 124) - 60 Min boil
8.5lb Pale Malt
3.5lb Munich
0.5lb Special B
0.5lb Aromatic
1lb Jaggery
1.5oz Styrian Goldings (60 min)
WLP540 Abbey IV
Mash at 152 for 60 min
OG: 1.067

Oct Singel (Derived from Radical Brewing pg. 123)
6lb Pilsener Malt
3lb Pale Malt
0.5lb Aromatic
1oz Styrian Goldings (60 min)
0.5oz Saaz (30 min)
0.5oz Saaz (0 min)
0.5 oz Crystal (dry hop)
WLP500 Trappist Ale