high fermenting temps - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > high fermenting temps

Old 01-05-2009, 06:29 AM   #1
jimmymcfarlson
Recipes 

Nov 2008

Im new to brewing and live I Texas. I dont have an extra fridge, im fermenting in my room. I brewing several types of ales and the coldest it gets in my house is around 71 72.... is this fine.

Old 01-05-2009, 06:58 AM   #2
Jaybird
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png

Recipes 

Jul 2006
Nor*Cal
Liked 1008 Times on 709 Posts

What type of yeast?

I have been making custom False Bottoms for just about everything since 2008

Nor Cal Brewing Solutions, Reddings local homebrew store
(530)243-BEER and (530)221-WINE

Still have questions PM me here or hit the website.

http://www.norcalbrewingsolutions.com and like us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/NorCalBrewingSolutionsfor Facebook only promos too
Smoke Cigars? www.stogietoys.com

*Member: The HBT Sweaty Fat Guy Cigar Club

Old 01-05-2009, 07:44 AM   #3
944play

Recipes 

Jul 2008
Santa Rosa, CA
Liked 46 Times on 41 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmymcfarlson View Post
I brewing several types of ales and the coldest it gets in my house is around 71 72.... is this fine.
Just get yourself a big cooler and put your fermenter in it. Fill with water and exchange frozen plastic bottles as necessary. This is Yooper's rig, with custom foam lid:

I use a round cooler and buckets:

The cooler can also double as a mash/lauter tun!

Old 01-05-2009, 07:54 AM   #4
ifishsum

Recipes 

Aug 2008
Portland OR
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

It does depend somewhat on the yeast used - I mostly use dry yeasts like US-05 and Nottingham, and I found that my ales taste better if fermented at 65 or even a little less. It does make a difference in the final product, and IMO worth a little effort rigging up a system like 944play suggested. Even a simple water bath, wet T-shirt over the fermenter and a fan will help.