Pid Help!! Asap - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Pid Help!! Asap

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2008, 10:35 PM   #1
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 96 Times on 81 Posts



OKAY, I bought a PID from AUBER INST.

I have my control box wired up and ready to go! Everything works, EXCEPT my friggin BK!!! The PID is powered up, ready to go... the thermocouple is doing its job but I cannot get power to my element!

Does it matter what wire takes the power INTO the SSR and which is the OUTPUT? The terminals are lettered "L" and "T". The manual sayes nothing.

Also, my PID is in MANUAL mode, at 100%. Alarm 1 is LIT, MANUAL is LIT, and OUT is LIT. NO POWER TO MY ELEMENT!! So what gives?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:44 PM   #2
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Minnesota
Posts: 172
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


What's the make/model of your SSR?


__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:45 PM   #3
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 96 Times on 81 Posts


The one here listed in my parts list

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/blin...version-93217/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:47 PM   #4
airbalancer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
airbalancer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Western MA
Posts: 156
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


The manual says the "manual control is initially disabled. To activate the manual control. set A/M=0 or 1

Any help
Mike

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:51 PM   #5
drez77
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Palmer MA
Posts: 410
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


Pol,

In set up mode do you have it set up as the following
At set to 1?

Mike

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:56 PM   #6
WBC
 
WBC's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
La Puente, CA, California
Posts: 2,164
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


On any controller you are dealing with voltage and current. You need to prove that each part of the circuit does in fact work. So I would isolate each part and make each one works by itself. Remember that each output can only sink or source so much current and you must determine if those needs are being met.
__________________
Cheers,
WBC

Fermentor 1: Bill's House Ale II, Fermentor 2: German Helles, Fermentor 3: Bill's Schworzbier (Black Bier)
Tap 1: Bill's House Ale II, Tap 2: German Hefewizen, Tap 3: Nut Brown Ale
Future Brews: Stone IPA Clone, Blonde Ale, Budvar Clone, Newcastle Clone
New toy: Blichmann 27 gallon fermentor


“If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop digging”

“Good judgment comes from experience, and a lotta that comes from bad judgment”

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:58 PM   #7
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Minnesota
Posts: 172
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pol View Post
OUT is LIT. NO POWER TO MY ELEMENT!!
If the LED is on, it should be driving the output. I'd use your newly acquired multimeter to double check that your getting +12VDC across the + and - terminals of the SSR. That may rule out the PID (and all of the wiring coming from it).
__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:05 PM   #8
The Pol
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 11,454
Liked 96 Times on 81 Posts


HEY I GOT IT!

Before I read the last message, I went out and took off the switch plate and started testing my 240VAC 30A switch... when touching the poles I was not reading any voltage.

When I tested ONE leg at a time I got 120VAC... OH DUH. I had my 240VAC swtich that sends ONE leg of power to my SSR and ONE leg of power to my outlet, powered off of the same HOT from the main line!

So, I powered my 240VAC switch with (2) separate hots from the main distribution block and tada... we are boiling water!

Thanks guys!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:27 PM   #9
WBC
 
WBC's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
La Puente, CA, California
Posts: 2,164
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


It's usually something simple and often overlooked. Just going over the circuit and checking voltages will find the problem. I don't get too excited any more when I have a malfunction because I know that I will eventually find it by isolating and then checking that each part works by itself. Good going.


__________________
Cheers,
WBC

Fermentor 1: Bill's House Ale II, Fermentor 2: German Helles, Fermentor 3: Bill's Schworzbier (Black Bier)
Tap 1: Bill's House Ale II, Tap 2: German Hefewizen, Tap 3: Nut Brown Ale
Future Brews: Stone IPA Clone, Blonde Ale, Budvar Clone, Newcastle Clone
New toy: Blichmann 27 gallon fermentor


“If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop digging”

“Good judgment comes from experience, and a lotta that comes from bad judgment”

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I bottle ASAP?!! D-licious Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 11-14-2012 08:36 PM
Missed my OG by quite a bit ... need help ASAP !!! jeremysavoy All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 12 11-05-2009 03:55 PM
Need some feedback ASAP! Jaxford All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 09-28-2009 11:48 AM
Need help ASAP senorfartman All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 11 02-20-2008 11:24 PM
Need Advice Asap! juglar All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 7 05-28-2007 02:25 PM


Forum Jump