Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > I want to build an insulated box for fermenting

Old 12-24-2008, 08:23 PM   #1
brewIPA
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default I want to build an insulated box for fermenting

Hi-
Im new to homebrewing (I've helped a friend with 3 batches and want to start my own) and am setting up/purchasing my own equipment. I saw a picture on these forums of a box-type thing that was insulated for fermenting a carboy at constant temperatures. I live in Flagstaff, AZ where (at the moment and pretty generally) the weather is cooler, and I was wondering if someone had DIY instructions. I figure there is going to need to be a hole for c02 to escape and I will also need something for temperature control ( like these NORTHERN BREWER: Fermentation Temperature Control) , other than that it seems like 6 sides of foam board insulation. Thanks for any help.

Adam

Old 12-24-2008, 08:32 PM   #2
Cpt_Kirks
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts

I am about to build two of them.

The base will be 13"x17", just big enough for a six gallon better bottle and a couple of frozen 2 liter soda bottles.

They will be just simple boxes of 2" foam board, glued together. The lid will overlap and be removable.

I don't think you need a hole for the CO2.

I am looking for a couple of cheap indoor/outdoor digital thermometers with a probes to use with them.

Old 12-24-2008, 08:41 PM   #3
brewIPA
Recipes 

I did a little bit more searching to find the picture and ended up finding the DIY with pictures here http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/diy-...cabinet-86815/ . I think I'm going to follow these instructions but modify it to hold only 4 carboys. Thanks for the input though.

Adam

Old 12-24-2008, 09:14 PM   #4
alpo
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

It may be easier (and better) to get a free broken refrigerator on Craigslist, if you can find a place to put it. PEople are always giving away free broken fridges.