Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Help on a German Pils

Old 10-31-2008, 10:14 PM   #1
Bitterdrinker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help on a German Pils

In my time in the Air Force, I have had the opportunity to travel to Germany a couple of times and the absolute best Pilsner I have tasted is called Lohrer Urtyp 1878. This beer has a very crisp, slightly bitter taste but I dont think the company can export it. I am very new at the homebrew hobbie, drinking only my second batch, 1 ESB and now a Hefe but I would like to make a clone of 1878. Does anybody have a recipe that would be similar? I have a copy of the Brewmasters bible which has several recipes but I am so new to this that I am not sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bitter

Old 11-01-2008, 11:59 PM   #2
BigEd
Recipes 

Liked 135 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 23

First, are you an all-grain brewer and do you have the ability to do lagers in your brewery?

Old 11-02-2008, 04:08 AM   #3
gxm
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I'd recommend reading Palmer's how to brew, which is available online - How to Brew - By John Palmer - Introduction

Brewing lagers can be more challenging than ales, as lagers need more yeast, need to be colder (for fermenting & lagering), and they take longer.

As for the beer itself, this site says it is a Munich Helles -
Beer Me! — Lohrer Bier — Lohr am Main, Bayern, Germany
and you can read about that style here - BJCP 2008 Style Guidelines - Category 01

As it happens, I have a German friend who lives in Lohr. I'd be happy to ask him about it for you if you'd like.

Old 11-02-2008, 03:19 PM   #4
Bitterdrinker
Recipes 

So far I am a partial mash person, just steeping the specialty grains. Thanks gxm for that info and I do have that book by Palmer. I will se what he has to say on the deal. Thanks for the link as well.