National Homebrew Day Giveaway - Enter Now - Weekend Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > When to use Campden Tablets
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2008, 05:07 PM   #1
pbdist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default When to use Campden Tablets

Hello,


I am making 15 gallons merlot and 15 gallons pinot grigio.
I have been reading alot of different posts about campden tablets.
I was wondering when should I use Campden Tablets. After the first racking, the second, or right before bottling?
I justed racked the merlot yesterday and I amgoing to rack the pinot grigio on Thursday.
The place I bought the juice from gave no directions about adding any chemicals except the yeast at the beginning.

Thanks,
Bryan
pbdist is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:10 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 64,494
Liked 5631 Times on 4040 Posts
Likes Given: 1379

Default

If you have an so2 meter (I don't!), you want to keep the wine at 50 ppm or so. What I do is add one campden tablet per gallon when making the must, at every other racking, and at bottling. As near as I can tell from doing some online research, this should closely approximate that figure.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 08:58 PM   #3
KENfromMI
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 122
Default

I use one per gallon right before bottling, I crush and mix them in, wait 24hrs, de-gass with a paddle connected to my drill then bottle. I age all my juice for a year before bottling and have never had a problem with bacteria etc. I rack multiple times over the year and let it clear naturally as well. I just make sure I sanitize very well at each racking, Ken
KENfromMI is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:01 PM   #4
Mirilis
Lvl 10 Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Mirilis's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Celina, Ohio
Posts: 1,661
Liked 81 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I usually only add campden tables when I make the must as well. I just wait for the yeasties to fall naturally and then rack them out. I dont want any more SO2 in my alcohol than I have to. Once it ferments the alcohol should be enough to kill any bacteria.
Mirilis is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Campden Tablets? NicotineRush Recipes/Ingredients 10 07-21-2012 05:11 PM
Campden tablets, how many? bull8042 General Techniques 4 08-29-2008 10:54 PM
Campden Tablets Phan71 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 08-12-2007 09:59 PM
campden tablets? jakith Wine Making Forum 4 01-13-2007 10:11 PM
Do i need to add campden tablets? nottsbrewer Cider Forum 3 01-06-2007 08:16 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS