Fing comcast (rant) - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling > Fing comcast (rant)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2008, 02:34 PM   #1
monty73741
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
baltimore, md (dundalk)
Posts: 548
Liked 5 Times on 1 Posts



so last night i goto bed. I have 1digitial cable & one box. cause I;m not renting another box. I turn on non box TV. I;m missing cspans, 12, 23, 26, 27,28 & some others.....COMCAST is blocking those channels. WTF.

I mean i have a nice big screen TV with a universal remote that controls the thing & i have to use a comcast box turning my TV into a giant fing monitor. I went out looking just for lcd monitors. No they stopped selling those cause now they have to have HD. that not what i want. what is the point of having a TV that receives HD has a cool ass remote that controls everything with PIP & all the audio out that you will ever need if i have to rent a fing box with ****ty audio out & it doesnt work half the time cause comcasts lines are old & dont tell comcast that cause it is just easier to switch out boxes.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 02:39 PM   #2
Brewing Clamper
 
Brewing Clamper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2006
Union City, CA
Posts: 2,846
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


Comcast has been removing channels from the regular(analog) lineup for a while in my area too. They pretty much want you to have a digital box for every TV. They're Comcast, they can do what they want and most people will just bare it and grin...
__________________
--Omar

4 Ohms Aleworks & Lagers | Twitter | Facebook | Blog |

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 02:46 PM   #3
monty73741
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
baltimore, md (dundalk)
Posts: 548
Liked 5 Times on 1 Posts


I honeslty smell a lawsuit. It is not the issue that they are blocking the channels I will have to pay for rental of a box. FIOS is slow coming. I;m just pissed.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:02 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,245
Liked 1695 Times on 1089 Posts


Send the coax out of the box over to the other TV and use a simple IR to RF bouncer to control it from the 2nd room. I've done that for cable and satellite until I got the Dishnetwork VIP622 which has an included 2nd RF remote for this purpose. The real benefit is access to your DVR drive if you use DVR.

Lawsuit? Would you try suing Verizonwireless because you have to buy their phones to use their service?
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
Corny Keg Dry Hop Canisters $26.50 for limited time
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:11 PM   #5
TheH2
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Arlington, VA
Posts: 265
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Soon they won't be a monopoly in any area. The services will shockingly get better. I'm eagerly waiting FIOS. Unfortunately, for the time being I'm stuck with comcast b/c i have a million trees around me.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:15 PM   #6
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 58,496
Liked 7467 Times on 6118 Posts


So you need to re-wire your tv's or rent another $9 box. Big deal.

I just bought a TV with every OTA tuner in the world and they are useless to me unless I want to watch the News @ 9 in high def. Otherwise, I have to have the box to get the HD and premium channel broadcasts through cable or sattelite.

Long gone are the days where the cable company uses filters inline to descramble signals. Now a days if you want a premium channel in your lineup the computer in the box has to be told to allow it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 04:33 PM   #7
98EXL
 
98EXL's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2007
Maryland
Posts: 3,138
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts


we don't get any channels with FIOS without a box of some sort anymore. Granted our digital to analog converter boxes were free, but everything needs a box now or a built in tuner. Welcome to what was supposed to happen 2 years ago, I'm glad it's finally here
__________________
I'm back!!!

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast vs Qwest HSI? TXCrash General Chit Chat 2 09-05-2009 04:16 PM
Comcast Blows JVD_X General Chit Chat 25 09-02-2009 03:52 PM
can they just fing vote monty73741 Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling 24 09-30-2008 07:58 PM
I HATE SMACK PACKS!!!!!!! rant rant rant Bernie Brewer Recipes/Ingredients 20 09-04-2007 01:28 PM
Beware of Comcast Orpheus Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling 19 08-06-2007 11:24 PM


Forum Jump