Using my Hydrometer - Touches the sides of the tube - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Using my Hydrometer - Touches the sides of the tube

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2008, 03:05 AM   #1
Jewrican
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
GA
Posts: 882
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts



So when i tried to use my hydrometer today, I found that the top of it touches the sides (leans over i guess) and i could not get an accurate reading. I scrapped the idea and just air-locked my beer to protect it.

Does anyone else have this issue? It is a plastic tube and is the one that it came in. Does anyone else use another container to take hydrometer readings in? I just don't want to use much larger of a container as i dont want to waste my beer.

BTW, i tasted it for the first time.. MMMMMM! I am brewing Charlies quick brown ale. I cant wait for it to be done!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:17 AM   #2
DrinksWellWithOthers
Recipes 
 
May 2008
MA
Posts: 1,009
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts


I sometimes need to tilt my wine thief around until I can get the hydrometer balanced in the middle.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:15 AM   #3
okstatepike
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Austin, TX
Posts: 45

Give it a real slight spin, that will help it settle out in the middle of the tube.
__________________
Red Dirt Brewing Co.
Planning: None
Secondary: None
Kegged: None
Drinking: Everything

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:18 AM   #4
shertz
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Running on Horse **** roads, Pa
Posts: 240

Let it sit for 10 minutes, then spin it. It should go to the middle and stay still, at least mine does.
__________________
RUNNING MAN BREWERY

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 11:59 AM   #5
bull8042
I like 'em shaved
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bull8042's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 10,263
Liked 450 Times on 447 Posts


I use a tube designed for that purpose. I think they are called sample tubes. I have heard of some people just sanitizing the hydrometer and dropping it in the bucket if you are fermenting in one of those. Can't do it in a carboy and the longer you leave a bucket wide open the more you are opening yourself up to infection.
However, mine stands up pretty straight in any case.
__________________
"I brew with a water cooler and some part from the toilet." - JohnnyO

"I do gravity feed the last gallon or two through my Therminator, but I expect you could suck start a Volkswagen before you could suck start one of these. - GilaMinumBeer

"..... Bull was right." - TXCurtis

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 12:19 PM   #6
TBLbrewer
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I have the same problem when bubbles build up on the hydrometer. A quick spin usually throws off the bubbles, and it floats up right.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 02:16 PM   #7
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Revvy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
"Detroitish" Michigan
Posts: 40,921
Liked 3184 Times on 1883 Posts


Spin, tap, let sit...almost all hydrometers do that, it just takes patience.
__________________
Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 02:57 PM   #8
batches_brew
Recipes 
 
Jul 2008
Hollyweed
Posts: 156

Make sure the cylinder is on a completely flat surface.
__________________
Primary: American Pale Ale
Secondary: American Brown Ale, IIPA
Bottle Conditioning:
On Deck: Hefeweizen, ABA, Robust Porter

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 03:32 PM   #9
Jewrican
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
GA
Posts: 882
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Thanks for the replies.

I will have to give the spin and settle thing a shot. My main complaint about my hydrometer tube (that it came in) is that it is plastic and has a removable top. When I had it filled with beer (or water) it slowly leaks out making an un-needed mess

I wonder if i can just buy a glass tube to drop my hydrometer in?

I will re-test tonight. Hopefully I will have better results.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:33 PM   #10
SteveStLoo
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Griswold, CT
Posts: 60
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I got a cylinder from my LHBS.. it looks like a graduated cylinder from high school, minus the graduations. Its wide enough for the hydrometer to fit, and fits enough beer in it to actually get an accurate reading. Any of the online stores have em, just grab one next time you order something. shouldnt be more than a couple of bucks!!
__________________
Primary: Oxyclean/H2O
Secondary: O2
Bottles: Honey Blonde Ale
Next: Some sort of Porter!

Wine Secondary: Vintners Reserve Merlot

"We make two things here.. good beer, and mistakes. This one might have been a mistake.." -anon

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carb bubbles in hydrometer tube andrewp Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 11 11-02-2009 04:38 PM
Brew Bucket - Bowing at the sides? kahunaman Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 11-19-2008 07:34 PM
Laying bottles on their sides? Ratphink120 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 11-01-2008 02:07 PM
Final Touches its02003 Equipment/Sanitation 12 09-13-2008 07:27 PM
Hydrometer..No Tube, Ideas ? MNBugeater Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-05-2008 01:27 AM


Forum Jump