Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Some ?'s about kegs v. bottles

Old 08-28-2008, 12:23 AM   #1
woodbridgebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Some ?'s about kegs v. bottles

hi all,

I am fairly new to brewing and this site but have been reading it for about a month now and appreciate all the knowledge you have shared. I now have my first all grain in bottles and cant wait to see if i screwed it up or not. I have been reading a lot lately about corney kegging beer rather than bottling and i have a few questions before i start to invest money into a kegging system.

what are the major advantages of kegs?

what and are there advantages to bottles instead of kegs?

Does beer keep as long in kegs as it does in bottles?

Old 08-28-2008, 12:53 AM   #2
Kevin Dean

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodbridgebrew
what are the major advantages of kegs?
Speed. You rack to the keg, put the lid on, seal it with CO2 and then cool it while it carbonates. You also don't have the washing of all those bottles. Another reason, quite seriously, is that it's damn cool to say in casual conversations "I've got three/five/eight/ beers on tap at home".

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodbridgebrew
what and are there advantages to bottles instead of kegs?
Variety. I like variety in my beer and swapping out kegs isn't a viable option for me (nor is building a bigger kegerator). I bottled, went to kegs and then went back to bottling because in general, I find it more enjoyable.

Another one is initial investment. You can have friends toss bottles into a box, or drink lots of beer yourself, or as a recycling center or bar for bottles but finding free/cheap kegging equipment is a bit harder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodbridge
Does beer keep as long in kegs as it does in bottles?