6 gallon carboy big enough for primary? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > 6 gallon carboy big enough for primary?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2006, 09:35 PM   #1
Kevin K
 
Kevin K's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 358


I'm going to be doing partial boils (extract) and I'm wondering if my 6 gallon carboy will be big enough for a primary fermenter? Think I'll have enough room for krausen?
I plan on rigging up a blow off tube just in case, but I'd hate to find out that it's too small once the brew is already chugging away.

Kevin

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:45 PM   #2
Monk
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
The Command Center
Posts: 578
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I personally think it will be fine. I've brewed about 10 batches in a 6.5 gal carboy and noone have gone over 1.5 inches of krausen. I've brewed mostly ales with moderate malt 6-7 pounds per 5 gal batch. I usually use dry yeast like safale 56. Maybe you get fatter krausen from liquid yeast.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:47 PM   #3
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin K
I'm going to be doing partial boils (extract) and I'm wondering if my 6 gallon carboy will be big enough for a primary fermenter? Think I'll have enough room for krausen?
I plan on rigging up a blow off tube just in case, but I'd hate to find out that it's too small once the brew is already chugging away.

Kevin
It'll be close. My primaries are 6.5 gallon, and I've usually got lots of room to spare at high kraeusen.

If you've got a blow-off, then there is nothing to worry about anyway. Just use it for a few batches before deciding if it's necessary or if an airlock would be fine.

I bought a 6 gallon carboy for my wine, but was thinking that I could probably use it for a beer primary if necessary.

FYI: judging by the marks I put on my carboys to measure volume, I usually get 0.5 to 1.0 gallons of kraeusen on my batches.

-walker
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:51 PM   #4
Kevin K
 
Kevin K's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 358

Sounds like I'll be close then. I'll give it a shot. (I could use my pail for primary, but I really want to see what's going on!).

Thanks Walker (& Monk).

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 05:44 AM   #5
KopyKat
 
KopyKat's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2005
Round Rock Texas
Posts: 473
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts


I use a 6 gallon every time and I always use a blowoff tube whether I think I will need it or not - (I usually do because I do big starters).
__________________
Jerry Pritchett
KopyKat Brewery


Primary: Belgian Blonde (for cask)
Drinking: Robust Porter
Up Next: Christmas Ale, SNPA, Simcoe IPA

AustinZealots.com
Home of the Austin Zealot's Inquisition

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 07:30 AM   #6
2pugbrews
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Loveland, CO
Posts: 100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monk
I personally think it will be fine. I've brewed about 10 batches in a 6.5 gal carboy and noone have gone over 1.5 inches of krausen. I've brewed mostly ales with moderate malt 6-7 pounds per 5 gal batch. I usually use dry yeast like safale 56. Maybe you get fatter krausen from liquid yeast.
I used Safale 56 for a Porter I fermented in a 5 gal carboy. Big mistake. Luckily I rigged a blowoff tube. It really went to town - started in 4 hours. I pitched the slurry from that to a Fat Tire clone in my 5 gal carboy w/blow off. this one had even higher krausen - must have blown out 1 1/2 quarts of beer along with the krausen. I'm sold on the dry yeasts from Fermentis - no hydration or starter, just sprinkle on the wort.

I'm looking for a 6 1/2 gal carboy.
__________________
Primary: MT
Secondary: Belgian Wheat
Consuming: EdWort's Apfelwein,

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 07:36 AM   #7
Dude
Will work for beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Dude's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2005
Knob Noster, Missouri
Posts: 8,770
Liked 88 Times on 70 Posts


I only have a 6 gallon for primary and it works fine. I've even done primary in a 5 gallon carboy before, in fact my honey pale is in the 5 gallon right now.
__________________
On Tap: Lake Walk Pale Ale -- Eternity (Raspberry Stout) -- Nutrocker -- Donnybrook Dark
Primary: Lake Walk Pale Ale
Secondary: Summit IPA
Up Next: Smoked Porter -- Pub Ale -- Watermelon Wheat
Planning:
Gone But Not Forgotten:

www.IronOrrBrewery.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 01:53 PM   #8
Kevin K
 
Kevin K's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 358

Thanks guys!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:17 PM   #9
NEPABREWER
 
NEPABREWER's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Scranton PA
Posts: 184

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...DME:L:RTQ:US:1

ant reason these won't wok? I am thinking of picking up a couple for my first homebrew attempt. I found a few nice SS cook pots (32Qt), but I am still researching these

cheers

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:27 PM   #10
Kevin K
 
Kevin K's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 358

Those are perfect.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Gallon measurement height on a 6.5 gallon carboy 85 Haro Designs Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 15 02-20-2014 03:53 PM
WTB/WTTF: 6.5 Gallon Carboy/Better bottle (Have 5 Gallon Carboy in trade) Brewin06111 For Sale 3 10-24-2009 05:44 PM
Can I use a 5 gallon glass carboy as a primary for a 2.5 gallon batch bgough All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 3 03-24-2009 05:41 PM
5 gallon batch - ok to secondary in a 6 gallon carboy? Jakobrau Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 10-23-2008 01:23 AM
5 Gallon Carboy Primary? backwards Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 13 01-21-2007 05:18 AM


Forum Jump