Johnny Jump Up Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

summersolstice

Reaction score
This is a sparkling cider I've been making for a couple of years that I really enjoy. It's a tart dry cider with a nice bite to it. It ferments dry to about 10.5%.

6 gallon recipe

6 gallons apple juice (cheapest I can find w/o preservatives)
one can Welch's White Grape concentrate
6 cups brown sugar
6 cups white cane sugar
10t tartaric or malic acid
6t pectic enzyme
3t tannin
6t yeast nutrient

Premier Cuvee yeast

OG 1.080
FG .998

Mix ingredients and keep in primary one week. Rack to secondary, leaving most of the gross lees behind. After two more weeks, rack onto 5 oz priming sugar and bottle in crown caps or swing tops. If you allow this to sit in the secondary too long and get crystal clear it may end up as a still cider. It'll clear in the bottle. Allow it to bottle condition for several weeks. It gets better as time goes by and it will kick your butt. I drink it in a wine glass in 6 oz portions.

just made two batches of this yesterday. I couldn't find any white grape concentrate so it might end up purple... hopefully it will still be good though.
summersolstice: have you back sweetened this before? Is it even necessary?
With splenda or something...

Got a gallon of fresh pressed cider from an orchard at home, so I'm gonna scale this down for that. One question I have tho, I read elsewhere that adding fresh apples in the secondary could add some extra flavor and possibly some sweetness. What does everyone else think about this?