Any Officers in the Military here? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Drunken Ramblings and Mindless Mumbling > Any Officers in the Military here?

Old 05-28-2008, 09:06 PM   #1
Ryanh1801

Recipes 

Mar 2007
Addison,TX
Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts

I know we have a a lot of Military members in here, I had some questions for those that where officers or hell anyone really if they might know.

What path did you take getting into it?
Did you get any say it what area you went into?
If you could do it all over again would you?
Does your degree play into what you will go into, or is it just the fact that you have a degree?

And just any other thoughts you have on doing something like this.

I have been contemplating doing this for a few years, and now that graduation is getting close and im almost down to the Weight standards for the Military I have been thinking about doing this again.

Thanks for any comments and or advice.

Old 05-28-2008, 09:27 PM   #2
Lil' Sparky
Cowboys EAC
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Feb 2006
Honolulu, HI
Liked 73 Times on 46 Posts

I'm a communications officer in the USAF. I got a ROTC scholarship out of high school. I attended SMU and did ROTC cross-town at UNT, all while living in The Colony. Whew - I couldn't afford to do all that driving today with our fuel prices!

My BS was in Comp Sci. I would say that it did play a part in the career field I chose, although our career field and many others don't necessarily have specific degree requirements. Some do (medical, engineering, law, etc.)

I never planned on staying in past my 4 year commitment. Now I've been in over 10 years, Uncle Sam is paying for degree #3 (PhD at Tx A&M), and I don't have a single regret.