Windows XP SP3 woes - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Windows XP SP3 woes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2008, 03:17 PM   #11
BlindLemonLars
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Posts: 4,474
Liked 27 Times on 25 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by McCall St. Brewer View Post
Hmmm. I wonder... could I take out the old drive, install it in an enclosure and then copy data from it to my laptop?
With one of these, you don't even need an enclosure. I use mine all the time, it's incredibly handy.

USB-IDE/SATA Cable

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:26 PM   #12
jds
 
jds's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,913
Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlindLemonLars View Post
With one of these, you don't even need an enclosure. I use mine all the time, it's incredibly handy.

USB-IDE/SATA Cable
That is cool. I need me one of those.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 01:35 AM   #13
McCall St. Brewer
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
West Monroe, Louisiana
Posts: 1,172
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


Well, I finally got my system up and running again by doing a repair with my Windows Re-install CD. Before that, though, I did get a hard drive enclosure and backed up my HD to another HD.

Then I got a bonus. I found an old 40 gig drive in the attic and put in in the enclosure. It should be good for transferring large files from one computer to another. I don't know if I trust it for backups, though. I don't know how long it will last.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 02:37 PM   #14
jds
 
jds's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,913
Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts


Apparently, you're not the only person having trouble with SP3.

http://tech.slashdot.org/tech/08/05/09/1258229.shtm

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 04:18 PM   #15
Tenchiro
 
Tenchiro's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Providence, RI
Posts: 2,973
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

It has many many utilities that should be able to help you out.
__________________

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 10:44 PM   #16
malkore
 
malkore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Nebraska
Posts: 6,922
Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts


so a hard disk scan reported errors on your drive? that would be hardware failure, not the OS. chances are the installation of Sp3 caused you to start using sectors on the drive that are damaged.

I'm with cubbies...install a new hard drive and a fresh Windows install, then slave the old drive up and get all your data off of it now. a new drive might even come with some utilities to scan the suspect drive. I think Seagate retail drives come with such a utility.
__________________
Malkore
Primary: English Mild
On tap: Pale Ale, Lancelot's Wheat, English Brown Ale, Steam Beer, HoovNuts IPA
Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 11:29 PM   #17
BlindLemonLars
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Posts: 4,474
Liked 27 Times on 25 Posts


If the drive HAS gone bad, don't forget to check it's serial number on the manufacturer's website. Nearly all new drives have at least a three year warranty, and in my experience they are quickly replaced with no fuss at all. Usually, I get a bigger drive in return!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 06:35 PM   #18
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,417
Liked 5024 Times on 3391 Posts


SP3 has since been updated to correct for this problem. Do a search at Microsoft for it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 07:55 PM   #19
DUCCCC
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Posts: 1,619
Liked 42 Times on 42 Posts


OK, so my home PC did start having issues after installing SP3. IE7 started running extremely slow, even to the point of locking up the whole system. Once it got in this state I had to hold ctrl-alt-del to get the task list to eventually come up, and kill the iexplore task manually. If I was able to get the IE7 closed using the top right X, the iexplore task would stay resident in memory and slow the system.

After taking the time to dig around some more I found an app called searchglow that was the culprit. It's part of the Microsoft Live toolbar, and after removing the Live toolbar the problem went away. That toolbar worked before SP3, but it was broken afterwards. I haven't tried loading it again.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:38 PM   #20
david_42
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,597
Liked 155 Times on 145 Posts


I really wish I didn't need winduhs for testing. I have all of the automatic update features shut off and it still does updates!

Anyone know how to shut the damned reminders (firewall, updates, internet) that keep popping up? I'd trust a pile of cow-pies for security before MS software.
__________________
Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 and Beersmith Austin_ Brewing Software 18 06-23-2009 06:07 PM
anyone here install windows 7 monty73741 General Chit Chat 15 02-06-2009 07:06 PM
windows mobile monty73741 Brewing Software 2 05-29-2008 04:46 PM
Windows SkyDrive FlyGuy General Chit Chat 2 03-07-2008 03:35 AM
Windows Vista Tony General Chit Chat 53 03-08-2007 06:51 PM


Forum Jump