Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Batch EVER week two comments (secondary)

Old 05-03-2008, 09:47 PM   #1
lucasszy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Batch EVER week two comments (secondary)

Initial recipe here

So its been a little over a week and I decided that I wanted to switch over to a secondary... Hey its my first time and I wanted to see the whole experience.

Some observations and questions are as follows:

1. WOW, I would never have thought that so much yeast ended up in the bottom of my bucket. The whole bottom was covered in almost an inch of yeast... I guess its normal but far from what I would have expected... Amazing!

2. Gravity check today was at 1.021 plus or minus a tiny bit. (Im still learning how to read my hydrometer. Im expecting it to go lower in the secondary, which I plan on letting it sit two weeks.

Is this enough? 2 weeks in the secondary, or should I go solely by FG?

3. The taste - My wife (who was skeptical about this whole beer making thing, said it was quite good) Personal opinion is that it tastes a bit watery by overal similar to a nut brown ale. TASTY!

4. The smell is amazing, fresh and hoppy (I finally know what that actually means)

5. Color is almost like a dark nut brown ale, even thought this qualifies as a bitter.

Any comments and recommendations for the next two weeks would be greatly appreciated.

OVERALL, Im amazingly suprised by my first ever attempt at bear making.

next weekend Im putting together a honey chamomile hefeweisen!

Cheers

lucas

Old 05-03-2008, 11:23 PM   #2
Blender

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts

I do think that you should have waited a bit before moving to your secondary. Your gravity is high so I hope you have enough yeast to finish the beer. You need to remember that the 1-2-3- method is a guide and not to be taken as a hard rule. This is one of the first lessons we learn as we continue to brew.

Old 05-04-2008, 05:53 PM   #3
Dominator6