How do you guys move your wort to your fermenters. - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > How do you guys move your wort to your fermenters.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2008, 02:45 AM   #1
wedge421
 
wedge421's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 958
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts



I dont have a pump or anything and just started AG batches. My issue has been that I have a 15 gallon SS pot with 7-9 gallons of wort in it. Which is close to like 100lbs!! What is the best way you guys have figured to get your wort into a fermenter. I have been using a gallon pitcher that I sanitise between each scoop and pour. Is there an easier way? The pot has a spigot but will that move to slow and risk contamination? Thanks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 02:57 AM   #2
Evan!
 
Evan!'s Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 11,863
Liked 87 Times on 72 Posts


Git yer ass to the gym, first off.

I dump mine manually, but my wort is about 5.75 gals at that point. Many people whirlpool after cooling with an IC or CC, then the use a siphon to get the wort to the fermenter. The whirlpooling moves all the crud and solids into a nice cone in the center of the bottom of the kettle; you just keep the siphon tip towards the outer edge and you'll do fine.
__________________
MOSS HOLLOW BREWING CO.
Aristocratic Ales, Lascivious Lagers


.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 02:58 AM   #3
Fingers
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Fingers's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba
Posts: 4,216
Liked 45 Times on 36 Posts


I make ten gallon batches, but I ferment in five gallon pails. So I bring my pails outside to the kettle, fill them up, and bring them in to ferment.
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 03:29 AM   #4
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
EdWort's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Bee Cave, Texas
Posts: 11,914
Liked 337 Times on 169 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingers
I make ten gallon batches, but I ferment in five gallon pails. So I bring my pails outside to the kettle, fill them up, and bring them in to ferment.
+1 Keep it simple. Buckets for mash water to MLT. Gravity to Kettle, gravity to fermenters, fermenters are 5 gallons, kegs are 5 gallons, all easy to lift and carry.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 03:33 AM   #5
Alamo_Beer
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,439
Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts


You've got a spigot but aren't using it?

Problem solved man.....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 05:07 AM   #6
wedge421
 
wedge421's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 958
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


Gee thanks Evan. I'm a clinical lab. scientist I use my brain muscle hahahaha. I have tomorrow off so i think im gonna try to figure out some kind of gravity method with an old TV stand and aluminum rack. Thanks guys.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 05:12 AM   #7
McKBrew
 
McKBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Hayden, Idaho
Posts: 8,204
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts


Just put in a weldless fitting. Fairly cheap, easy.
__________________
Make Beer, Not War.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 12:58 PM   #8
rtp-brew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2005
Durham, NC
Posts: 40

I just use my automagic racking cane. The only tough part is lifting the kettle up to the workbench. Sitting on the burner it's not high enough above the carboy to start the siphon.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 01:14 PM   #9
jezter6
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Nov 2006
DARLINGTON, MARYLAND
Posts: 4,289
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by rtp-brew
I just use my automagic racking cane. The only tough part is lifting the kettle up to the workbench. Sitting on the burner it's not high enough above the carboy to start the siphon.
That is why you buy the autosiphon. A few pumps and you're fine. I've managed to move liquid from two even level vessels that way.
__________________
http://www.survivalsupplyhq.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:40 PM   #10
Aust1227
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 111

Quote:
Originally Posted by jezter6
That is why you buy the autosiphon. A few pumps and you're fine. I've managed to move liquid from two even level vessels that way.
Huh? If you have done this, then you have relieved our reliance on fossil fuels!! The economy will boom. The US will remain the only super power for hundreds of years!! Plese explain?!

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new fermenters....soon. Beermaker Fermenters 5 10-30-2009 12:35 PM
Does anyone have or used one of these fermenters? Brewmoor Equipment/Sanitation 6 09-14-2009 10:47 PM
Anybody use these for fermenters? RockfordWhite Equipment/Sanitation 2 08-20-2008 01:57 AM
Fermenters GregPC Equipment/Sanitation 0 07-11-2005 02:43 PM


Forum Jump