Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > 30 qrt Turkey fryer and cooler?

Old 03-31-2008, 12:58 AM   #1
Wade E
Beer Buster
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default 30 qrt Turkey fryer and cooler?

I know this must have been asked so many ties that you will want to shoot me but Im a noob here and tried to search for this answer and read alot about other questions asked instead so here it goes. What size batch will I beable to do once I get into AGB with a 30 qrt fryer and what size cooler should I get to make a MT for this setup? I dont see myself making huge batches, 5 or 6 gallons a would be perfect.

Old 03-31-2008, 01:00 AM   #2
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer

Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Nobody will shoot you, don't worry!

You will be able to do standard 5 US gallon batches with a 30qt pot (though you will need to be vigilant for boil overs at the start!). A 5 gallon cooler is adequate for 5 gallon batches but you would be better off with at least 10 gallons if you can manage it.

Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station

Old 03-31-2008, 12:16 PM   #3
Funkenjaeger

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

With foam control drops you can easily push close to the 6 gallon batch mark in that 30qt pot - without, you're safer trying to stay near 5.

Old 03-31-2008, 01:26 PM   #4
Liquidicem
I love lamp!

Recipes 

**BANG**

j/k You should be ok with a 30 quart pot but it will get tight at the beginning of your boil. I would recommend bigger if you can but it is a decent starting point. I've boiled 6.5 gallons down to 5.5 in a 30 qt. pot but had to watch it like a hawk. I'm in the process of converting a keg to a boil kettle now.

You won't regret a 10 gallon cooler.
Don't poop in your fermenter when the lid is off and you'll be fine.

Old 03-31-2008, 02:00 PM   #5
FlyGuy

Recipes 

Liked 149 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 7