Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > How did you quit smoking?

Old 03-24-2008, 11:51 PM   #1
Redweasel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default How did you quit smoking?

Going to try to quit (again) after 15 years of 2 pack a day. I already know I'm in for a long fight and I'm going to be a bitch to live with. What have you people tried? I'm very serious abut it this time as it is affecting my health. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Old 03-24-2008, 11:55 PM   #2
Gnome
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I started brewing and couldn't afford cigarettes anymore. Actually went to a hypnotist one time and it worked for me but not the girlfriend.

Old 03-25-2008, 12:02 AM   #3
kaptain_karma

Recipes 

To be fair, I still smoke, but when I want to smoke and can't, I fold oragami. It's calming and gives me something to do with my hands.

Old 03-25-2008, 12:04 AM   #4
enderwig

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

I used the patches. I did each step for 1 week. I figured if that didn't work, then I would just be getting addicted to the patches. It's been about 15 months now, and I am still smoke free.

Old 03-25-2008, 12:08 AM   #5
kornkob
Resident Crazy Uncle
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I'm no help. I don't think I was ever addicted. I think it really was a habit in my case. Specific circumstances or behavior chains would make me want to smoke-- but if I never hit any of those triggers I could go for a pretty long time without realizing I hadn't smoked. No withdrawal, no 'nic fits'. Just the occasional 'what is missing here' feeling and getting used to new way I feel when I'm getting drunk without the nicotine high.

When I stopped smoking I just stopped buying them and did that mainly by never going inside a gas station. You see my habit was to start the gas pumping and go inside. I'd wait in line, ask for a pack of smokes and then tell them the pump number.