Hop Twine and Placement - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Hop Twine and Placement

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2008, 10:30 PM   #1
Arneba28
 
Arneba28's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Amherst, Western New York
Posts: 2,193
Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts



I know lots of people have had no problem with using the hop twine that they sell on alot of the sites. However is this only suitable for completely vertical growth or can they support angled growth (25deg) since the weight will be distributed differently, or should I just go with a 3/8" rope.
Also, I searched and cant seem to find if I should wait till the sprout breaks the soil surface to anchor the growing lines or just anchor then in very close proximity to the intended sprouting area.
I am starting light this year and only doing three rhizomes, 1 Magnum, 1 Cascade and 1 Centennial.
__________________
My Kegerator Project

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 03:42 PM   #2
CBBaron
 
CBBaron's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Cleveland
Posts: 2,786
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arneba28 View Post
I know lots of people have had no problem with using the hop twine that they sell on alot of the sites. However is this only suitable for completely vertical growth or can they support angled growth (25deg) since the weight will be distributed differently, or should I just go with a 3/8" rope.
Also, I searched and cant seem to find if I should wait till the sprout breaks the soil surface to anchor the growing lines or just anchor then in very close proximity to the intended sprouting area.
I am starting light this year and only doing three rhizomes, 1 Magnum, 1 Cascade and 1 Centennial.
I havn't used the hop twine, I instead use baling twine I can get for free, however I see no reason why you could not anchor them at an angle. The biggest load is not the weight but the wind when fully leafed. The load is also higher if you have the full 18+ feet vs if you are against a building.

You can anchor the twine near where the sprout is planted. The bine can easily be trained to a rope feet away from where it breaks the ground.

Ofcourse the bine probably broke the ground over a month ago.

Craig

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 03:53 PM   #3
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 58,463
Liked 7454 Times on 6109 Posts


3/8" Sisal rope is as good as anything. For most, it will last two seasons before it needs replaced and you can buy it in spools of 100, 200, or 500 foot.

I have some of the Coir rope but have yet to use it for anything. I'd much rather use something available locally rather than having to stock up.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 04:59 PM   #4
david_42
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,595
Liked 152 Times on 143 Posts


I use the Coir twine & my lines are sloped about 30 degrees. Not a problem.

Until recently, the pros planted on a 7x7 grid and used slanted lines. Now, because it makes for cheaper drip irrigation systems, less labor for attaching the bines to the cords and easier harvesting, they plant on a 14x3 and go vertical.
__________________
Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 11:30 PM   #5
cuinrearview
 
cuinrearview's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Delton, MI
Posts: 1,152
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts


I switched to jute twine this year from the synthetic crap that I used to use. So far it's holding up fine, and it's cheap!! I plan to cut it at the top at harvest time, so I'll just re-string next year. I made a hillbilly anchor out of a bent piece of 1/2" aluminum tent pole shoved into the ground five years ago when I planted this plant, and I put it pretty much right over the rhizome. On my new plants this year, I used one of those screw type dog chain anchors on the outside of my raised beds and ran the twine over the plants up to the teepee (hope this makes sense).

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 08:47 PM   #6
hopboy
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Westminster, CO
Posts: 34

I use the jute twine for my bed that runs by my house since I cut them down at the end of eacg growing season. My outer beds have some 3/8 Sisal rope but mostly "weld wire".

My friend uses chains and pulls his off the chains in the fall.

Hopboy

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 11:06 PM   #7
cuinrearview
 
cuinrearview's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Delton, MI
Posts: 1,152
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts


Hopboy, I would be very interested to see some pictures of your hopyard with some varietal and age information. Since joining the site you've been very informative in this forum.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 11:38 PM   #8
Mustangj
 
Mustangj's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
Royal Oak, MI Michigan
Posts: 1,318
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


The post that hold the cable that's connected to the twine are 16' and the twine is 20'.


This pic is 2 weeks old.
__________________
"If my mother was tied up and held ransom, I might think about making a light beer."Greg Koch
Stone Brewing

Michigan Mashers
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/groups/michigan-mashers/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 05:26 PM   #9
GearBeer
 
GearBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
Clarkston, MI
Posts: 725
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Any specific reason to use 3/8" Sisal Rope? I grabbed 1/4" Sisal rope because Lowe's was sold out of the long packages of 3/8" and it was less than half the price of buying the same length of 3/8".
__________________
Kyle

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hop Twine davis073005 Hops Growing 17 05-28-2010 01:15 PM
twine bas762 Hops Growing 6 04-12-2009 08:21 PM
Twine 1stTimer Hops Growing 7 04-09-2009 04:43 PM
Zig zag twine IanP Hops Growing 5 03-29-2009 05:59 PM
hop twine darkstar79 Hops Growing 5 06-23-2008 08:53 PM


Forum Jump