Traveling to Galveston, Texas - Beer to Try?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buckinin

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm taking a cruise out of Galveston next month and can bring two 6 packs of beer on board with me. (One for me and one for the wife, but she doesn't drink beer so really two for me.)

Does anyone have recommendations for local beer to try that I can't get at home in Indiana? Any recommendations for good stores for craft beer in Galveston?

Spec's on Smith Street in Houston is the best for any kind of alcohol. What kind of bears do you like?

Depends on what kind of beer you like but St. Arnolds is probably my favorite TX brewery, but I have limited experience with TX beers.

I believe Real Ale Brewing Co beers are only available in Texas. Also Karbach (being acquired by Anheiser Busch, though). Other local breweries with good reps, besides St. Arnolds listed above are Jester King, Hops and Grains, Austin Beerworks, Live Oak Brewery.

My local HEB grocery store has as good a selection of craft beer as the closest Specs. The one (HEB) in League City reportedly has a good selection.

I don't know where to go for it in Galveston, but several great breweries in Houston. St. Arnold's, as mentioned puts out a great beer (Lawnmower) that is pretty easy to find in convenience stores and such. Karbach makes my favorite Houston beers...they just sold out to BMC, but day to day operations/management are still the same from what I've heard. Also pretty easy to find and a lot of styles available. 8th Wonder is a pretty new brewery but doing big things. I don't know how easy it is to find their beer, but I've had it on tap at a few places and it is all great stuff.