Pale Mild and English IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

binosbrew

Reaction score
Hello everyone
this is my first extract brewing+steeping grains after a Pils kit which is still maturing but tastes already fine.

This mild recipe is adapted from a Norther Brewer recipe, it has some modifications I made because of the availability of some ingredients so, as I am a complete newbie, I wanted to post it here to check if things are fine.
With some malt extract left (I have a small fermenter) I wanted to brew an english IPA, so I adapted a recipe I found here on the forum to my leftovers. It is posted below so please tell me if this is fine too. I am going to use S-04 for both of them.

P.S. The beers might not be perfectly in style, but what I am more worried about is trying to understand if the combination and quantities of hops\grains is ok. Thank you!!

AK-47 Pale Mild-final
Mild

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (G): 5.0
Total Grain (lb): 5.000
Total Hops (oz): 1.10
Original Gravity (OG): 1.036 (°P): 9.0
Final Gravity (FG): 1.009 (°P): 2.3
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 3.54 %
Colour (SRM): 9.4 (EBC): 18.5
Bitterness (IBU): 18.1 (Average)
Brewhouse Efficiency (%): 100
Boil Time (Minutes): 60

Grain Bill
----------------
4.473 lb Liquid Extract - Maris Otter (89.46%)
0.497 lb Crystal 80 (9.94%)
0.030 lb Chocolate (0.6%)

Hop Bill
----------------
0.83 oz East Kent Golding Leaf (4.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) (0.2 oz/Gal)
0.27 oz East Kent Golding Leaf (4.7% Alpha) @ 15 Minutes (Boil) (0.1 oz/Gal)

IPA Maris Golding
English IPA

Recipe Specs
----------------
Batch Size (G): 5.0
Total Grain (lb): 7.112
Total Hops (oz): 5.09
Original Gravity (OG): 1.051 (°P): 12.6
Final Gravity (FG): 1.013 (°P): 3.3
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 5.01 %