Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > First homebrew!

Old 03-04-2008, 03:41 PM   #1
ksbeerlover80
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First homebrew!

Hi all:

So, I opened my first bottle of homebrewed beer last night. Admittedly, I didn't do it from scratch - I used Mr. Beer. As I've never done this before, I think it turned out pretty well.

I wanted to ask everyone if they've had a similar experience to mine:

Upon opening the first bottle, I instantly noticed a yeasty smell - perhaps I did not allow it to bottle condition long enough?

It also had a sweeter taste than anticipated and less carbonation - again not long enough in the bottle?

Thoughts? Comments? Ideas for brewing Round Two?

We were able to bottle 8 quarts of beer from this batch and we're planning to be somewhat scientific (open one bottle, follow up a week later, etc.) with the entire process, but if bottle one was like this, then what about the rest?!

Thanks and cheers!

Old 03-04-2008, 04:19 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2888 Times on 1702 Posts
Likes Given: 3520

Hi, Welcome....

Read this thread, It'll explain why you're beer tasted funky...Relax, it'll be fine in 3 weeks.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=57499

There's also a great thread for Mr. Beer-ers

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=46360

It may give you some ideas for your next brew!

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

Old 03-06-2008, 03:42 PM   #3
ksbeerlover80
Recipes 

Thanks!