If I burn down the house, SWMBO wont let me brew... - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > If I burn down the house, SWMBO wont let me brew...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2008, 08:27 PM   #1
Dr_Deathweed
 
Dr_Deathweed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,381
Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts



I got the Ok from SWMBO to make a fermentation chamber and I was thinking of one close to this. Now I ws thinking of building it a little longer and butting a divider in the center, with two individually controled temperature chambers. After some looking and ploting, I realised that I know enought about electronics to know when to ask for help!

I wanted to put the two fan/thermostat circuts in paralel off of one AC-DC converter. I was going to convert the thermostats to be remote sensing, but hook them into the same power supply. I know they run on 24V DC, and the fans are 24V DC. Am I overloking anything? The parts I am looking at are below.


transformer:
http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/sto...60&pa=220960PS

Fans:
http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/sto...11&pa=153411PS

Thermostat:
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...egoryID=503549

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:30 PM   #2
homebrewer_99
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2005
Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,792
Liked 133 Times on 99 Posts


I appauld you on your endeavor, but you don't need to go overboard.

For transformers, check a local pawn shop. We can get them for $5. here. That'll save you some $$$
__________________
HB Bill

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:34 PM   #3
Dr_Deathweed
 
Dr_Deathweed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,381
Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts


I 100% agree. I mostly put the links up so people would know what parts I am looking at.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:39 PM   #4
5 Is Not Enough
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Erie, PA
Posts: 463
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts


Are you putting the fans on relays or will the tstats be able to handle the amperage?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:41 PM   #5
DUCCCC
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Posts: 1,619
Liked 42 Times on 42 Posts


Couldn't you just use an old PC power supply?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:46 PM   #6
5 Is Not Enough
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Erie, PA
Posts: 463
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts


Aren't those 12v?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:28 PM   #7
Dr_Deathweed
 
Dr_Deathweed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,381
Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts


yes, PC power supplies are 12V, I did think about that briefly because I do have one just lying around. The problem with one of those are the thermostats run of a 24V heating/cooling system. If someone knows of a 12V thermostat, that would make alot of things easier....

As for the thermostats handling the amperage, I dont know, but I am glad you mentioned it. THe online specs didnt mention that, but when I get a thermostat, I will take that into consideration. The transformer i was looking at only ran at 1 amp, and the fans would be 2 280mA loads in paralell, so..... I don't know...

If anyone else knows a better way to rig a system like this up (for a little less would be best) let me know.

I will post a schematic of my original idea as soon as I get around to it....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:45 PM   #8
Dr_Deathweed
 
Dr_Deathweed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Bryan, Texas
Posts: 2,381
Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts


Ok, it took every ounce of technical skill I have to come up with this schematic...
Click image for larger version

Name:	fermenter schem.JPG
Views:	943
Size:	12.3 KB
ID:	4089

in theory, would this work? what should I look out for/change? Once again, is there an easier way to do this? (temperature sensor/switch/magic?)

EDIT: oh, that sould read AC to DC..... my bad

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:18 PM   #9
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,222
Liked 49 Times on 21 Posts


Edit-
Deleted

That was some bad advice. Dont know what I was thinking when I wrote it.
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:19 PM   #10
DUCCCC
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Posts: 1,619
Liked 42 Times on 42 Posts


Might be a little overkill, or not, but here's a pretty cool setup that would just as easy run a couple PC fans off a PC power supply. I just don't see a temp range listed. I also tried looking through Mouser's website, but wasn't coming up with too much there that was blow the 95-100F range.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brew House Kits Drew_101 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 14 02-13-2009 09:17 PM
first house...no money to brew! Evan General Chit Chat 11 03-11-2008 04:42 PM
cold house, no shower and unhappy SWMBO Kaiser General Chit Chat 29 02-08-2008 04:01 PM
The Brew House kits- anyone used them? andyp Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 09-30-2007 02:45 PM
Brew House mworkman Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 03-13-2006 11:53 AM


Forum Jump