First wort hopping a chocolate stout?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TooDogly

Reaction score
I'm new to all-grain brewing, this will be my third batch. The goal with this beer is a smooth chocolatey stout similar to Southern Tier's Choklat. I am using a cooler mash tun and my efficiency has been pretty low, around 67% so far, thus the addition of brown sugar to boost the OG and to add some molasses sweetness. Fermenting with Wyeast 1056 (American Ale), probably with a starter, but maybe just two smack-packs.

Any suggestions on the recipe would be appreciated. Also, this will be the first time I've tried first wort hopping and I'm interested to hear what the community has to say about its use. Thanks!

Predicted stats
1.097 OG
1.024 FG
75 IBU
9.6% ABV
35 SRM

Pale 2-Row (US) 12.0 lb 63 % Mash 37 1 °L
Briess Caramel Malt 60L 2.0 lb 10 % Mash 34 60 °L
Brown Sugar 2.0 lb 10 % Boil 45 15 °L
Briess Extra Special Malt 1.0 lb 5 % Mash 34 130 °L
Pale Chocolate Malt (US) 1.0 lb 5 % Mash 33 207 °L
Barley, Flaked 1.0 lb 5 % Mash 32 1 °L

Willamette (US) 1.0 oz 60 min First Wort Leaf 5.5%
Chinook (US) 1.0 oz 60 min First Wort Leaf 13.1%
Chinook (US) 1.0 oz 60 min Boil Leaf 13.1%
Willamette (US) 1.0 oz 15 min Boil Leaf 5.5%

Dark Belgian Chocolate 16.0 oz 60.0 min Boil
Yeast Nutrient (Wyeast) 1.0 tsp 15.0 min Boil
Cocoa Nibs 8.0 oz 14.0 days Secondary

I have done a FWH on my IPA's, Pales and Ambers but not on a stout. FWH imparts a smooth bitterness not sure that is what you are looking for in a stout, they are usually a malt forward beer. I would also recommend a half a pound or so of oats it adds another layer of mouthfeel.