Wort chilling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Bone2

Reaction score
Hey, I'm a nOOb. Big surprise, huh?

If I have 1.5 approx gallons of hot wort, and 3 gallons of cold water in my carboy, what is the purpose of chilling the wort to any specific temperature?

Today (my second batch), I cooled it down to about 110 degrees and poured it into the carboy through a strainer funnel. By the time all of the wort was poured into the carboy and water was added, the 5 gallon total was below 78 degrees, and ready for the yeast.

Am I missing some critical check point?

What you did works with 1.5 gallon boils.

But when you're doing full 5 gallon boils, you MUST chill the wort. Otherwise it takes over 24 hours to cool off, and that whole time period is like an incubation chamber for wild yeast/bacteria.

When you do a 5 gallon boil, are you making 5 gallons? Or are you adding THAT to more clear water?

The Bone2 said:
When you do a 5 gallon boil, are you making 5 gallons? Or are you adding THAT to more clear water?

I boil about 6.5 gallons to make 5 gallons (it evaporates during the boil). No water added, so I need to cool and aerate before pitching the yeast.

The Bone2 said:
or an all grain?

If it is extract, what would be the advantage of the full boil?